Home > Programs > Youth of the Year

2021 Youth of the Year: Diego Quiroz

Boys and Girls Club of the Coastside is proud to honor Diego Quiroz as our Youth of the Year honoring his academic achievement, leadership, and contributions to the Club.  Click here to watch a short video about Diego.

2021 Jr. Youth of the Year: Monserrat Pimentel

Monserrat Pimentel was selected as the Boys & Girls Club of the Coastside 2021 Junior Youth of the Year.  Sandra Sarabia, Cunha Site Manager, introduces Monserrat and shares a photo collage of her activities at Cunha, click here to watch the video.

2019 Youth of the Year: Yamilet Caballero- Haro

Yamilet has been a Boys and Girls Club of Coastside member since she was in 6th grade and is now graduating high school next week. During her time in high school, she has achieved great things, such as winning MVP for the high school girls golf team, averaging a 3.4 GPA, and after a couple of months of volunteering at our local veterinarian hospital, she was offered a job. We chose this individual based on her hard work academically, leadership in the Club, and community involvement. Yamilet will be the first recipient to have won Jr youth of the year in 2015, and now Youth of the year 2019…..

Please welcome our 2019 Youth of the year Yamilet Caballero- Haro!

2019 Jr. Youth of the Year: Julianna Aguilar

We chose the recipient based on academic excellence, leadership in the club, and community involvement. She is also part of Ballet Folklorico Tonantzin and has demonstrated to be a role model for the Boy’s & Girls Club with the unique ability, to inspire confidence in young people. It has been our pleasure to get to know this young woman and watch her grow over the past three years, as well as sharing memorable moments during summer camp, lunchtime, and Afterschool activities. On behalf of the Boys & Girls Club of the Coastside, I would like to present our 9th annual, Jr. Youth of the Year Award to Julianna Aguilar. 

Youth of the Year Winners 

2018 – Miguelangel Isidro

2017 – Joseignacio Lira

2016 – Darren A. Simser

Jr. Youth of the Year Winners 

2018 – Diego Acosta

2017 – Mitzi G. Hernandez

2017 – Michelle J. Hernandez

2016 – Wilfrido Arcada-Luna

2015 – Yamilet Caballero- Haro

2014 – Maria G. Dorantez

2013 – Louis Wooliever

2012 – Darren Simser

2011 – Julia Loegering

2010 – Emelio Espinoza